Skip to content

What is a Schengen Visa?

Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Iceland are part of the Schengen region in Europe. Consequently, short-stay visa for either of these countries is a Schengen Visa. A Schengen visa is issued for the purpose of a short stay (less than 90 days) in Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Iceland and other countries in the Schengen region. The Schengen Visa is strictly a visitor's visa and does NOT give the holder the right to reside or work in the Schengen Area. 

Who requires a Schengen Visa

Press this link to determine if you require a Schengen visa to enter Denmark, Norway, Sweden or Iceland.

Visa Exempt Nationals

Nationals from Nordic countries and EU/EEA countries can enter the Schengen region without a visa.

Visa exempt nationals (according to the list in the link above) are allowed to travel visa exempt in the Schengen region for up to 90 days per every 6 months with multiple entries. The 6 months are counted from the date of first entry into the region.

Nationals who require a visa

A Schengen visa is normally issued for the duration of the individual stay in Schengen and for a maximum of 90 days per every 6 months. The amount of entries are granted individually in each case.

The Schengen region in Europe

The Schengen region now includes the following countries:
Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Norway and Iceland, which are not members of the EU, are part of the Schengen agreement.

The following countries are NOT member states of the Schengen region:
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Great Britain, Ireland and Rumania.

Schengen Visa

The issue of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return to country of residence.

A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than 3 months or take up employment or establish a business, trade or profession.

Please note that holders of a Schengen visa are still subject to immigration control and are not guaranteed entry into any of the Schengen countries, even though they may hold a valid visa for these countries.

For details on how to apply please go to the subpage in the left column.

For more information about the Schengen visa please see the Danish Immigration Service's website.



Embassy of Denmark in Mexico City:
Tres Picos 43
Col. Polanco
Mexico, D.F.
C.P. 11580

Tel. (55) 5255 3405

E-mail (Visa and residence inquiries):




Monday - Thursday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
8:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.


In Person:
Monday - Friday
9:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.




Monday - Tuesday - Thursday - Friday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
Wednesday closed


Personal Appearance: By appointment only